Posted by: steveonfilm | January 1, 2008

Four Pages: Exercise Four – Post Notes

Exercise four was really challenging for me. I hadn’t written a treatment in such a long time that it was just like writing one for the first time. I found myself going back to earlier parts and revising things and shifting things around and making other changes as I continued through each part of the process.

In all honesty, I found the exercise quite hard. I think this was for two reasons. First, in my head my idea for what I want is far more fleshed out than what this exercise is supposed to help the writer with. In other words, I’m trying to make what I want to do fit within the confines of this exercise, instead of having this exercise help me figure out what I want to do. Two, I’ve never paid this much attention to pacing before. I know there are several “bits” that I want to happen in the process of the screenplay, but I’ve never had to think about what part of the movie they belong and should happen in.

When/if you read part 8, you’ll see references to clowns, airplanes, etc, and this is what I mean. These have to do with some bits that are part of the character development and background of Tom, things I know I want to happen, but for the first time I’ve had to think about where. When I get to posting the next two exercises some of what that stuff is fore will make more sense.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

