Posted by: steveonfilm | January 15, 2008

Exercise Seven: Conflict and the Circle of Being – Prenotes

I’m currently working on doing some rewriting on a previous script of mine. Exercise seven deals with studying a movie from the point of view of conflict or Circle of Being.

I don’t have any of the movies Syd suggests on hand and will have to wait until Netflix gets me what I need.

Honestly, I might just do this on Semla and Louise, which is one of the movies he suggested, to get the exercise out of the way. I’m not high on it, and the next step in the workshop is actually begining the screenwriting process. I’m aching to get started on this.

That’s one of the reasons I’m doing some rewriting on a previous script. I’m sort of getting myself warmed up for what lies ahead later this week.

Also, I’m reading a really fun book called “How NOT to Write a Screenplay.” It’s a cheap but on paperback and really a fun read for someone who’s written a screenplay or two, but has no idea if they’re writing anything even remotely professional. Check it out if you get a chance, or at least flip through it at Barnes and Nobel or something.

Until then kiddies…

Enjoy,

-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

