Posted by: steveonfilm | February 6, 2008

Finding The Mid-Point: Chapter Twelve Exercise – Summary

We’re really getting into the thick of things now aren’t we? Act one is all behind us. Sort of feels liberating. Sure, it may not be the prettiest thing in the world, but the important thing is that it’s done. That’s one accomplishment down. You can even view it as being a 1/3rd of the way toward the end.

After putting up the post earlier I farted around with my new Apple TV for a while. I just got it in the mail today. It’s pretty cool. I’ve got all my music and pictures synced up to it. I don’t have to listen to everything through my laptop speakers anymore. Let me tell you, that’s a HUGE plus.

At any rate, I finished reading chapter twelve Finding the Mid-Point and the exercise is a bit of a downer. Well no, that’s not true. Poor word choice on my part. It’s a bit anticlimactic. That’s more what I was looking for.

The gist is that Syd is trying to teach us more about the mid point of act two, and how it really needs to be the centerpiece for how the action of the movie is structured. He makes some really good points. Read the chapter if you haven’t.

The exercise deals with watching a movie and then breaking it down along plot point 1, mid point, plot point two, but with a careful dissection of whether or not the mid-point links the action between the first and second half of act two.

I think I’ll use one of my all time favorite movies Real Genius for this exercise. I just watched it this weekend while I was sick. I’m really familiar with it. However, I’ve never really dissected it from an artistic level before, so this should be fun.

I’ll post of the results when I’m done.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

