Posted by: steveonfilm | March 2, 2008

Wrapping Up Act Two

I’m putting the final brush strokes on Act Two. The changes I put into place around the mid point really have made writing about the characters more fun, and interesting. I have a better feeling for the characters, and feel more emotionally attached to them.

However, as I said before, some of the changes I made at the mid point are going to make me need to go back and rewrite some stuff in the first half. We’re not talking story revisions, that’ll be for a different draft, but just some continuity issues.

Some of these same issues will need to be revised in the first act two, but they’re not quite as big. Who knows, when I get this done I may just say “forget it” and wait until the third act is done, and then do my changes then.

On a different note, here’s a sample of a scene I wrote I thought was pretty cute:

He [Tom] puts his arms around Michelle.

TOM (CONT’D)
I need to see you again. I need a second chance. Because I want that feeling back. I want to know what love is. And I want you to show me.

Michelle smirks.

MICHELLE
You know you were doing pretty good until you quoted a Foreigner song.

TOM
(smiling)
I sort of ran out of material.

That small tidbit of a scene represents the whole dynamic of the relationship between Tom and Michelle. Tom wants to be able to see big, moving, romatic things to her but he really doesn’t have it in him. So when I was looking for a way for him to express himself I though “what better way to show this than to have him hit a few good lines and then quote a song.” Of course, Michelle would call him on it. But that’s them, that’s why they work well together…at least if they were real people.

I don’t know if how I envision them will come across the same way on the page. That’s part of the challenge of being a writer. You start to see these characters are real people, someone you see at a restaurant having a date, someone sitting together at the movies, people that are out and about just like you.

But screenwriting is a visual forum, so you have to be able to visually describe what you see in your head. That’s the true test I guess. It’s what separates the amateurs from the professionals. Maybe one day I’ll get there.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

