Posted by: steveonfilm | March 6, 2008

Act III: The Resolution – Chapter Fifteen Exercise: Summary

The exercise is straightforward. Finish the fight. Complete the script. Write the third act of the screenplay. Syd says to just do it, and keep your resolution in mind. Decide on what story elements you have to resolve. Write the index cards if you want (I will). Use a beat sheet if it helps (I might). But whatever you do, don’t give up.

Evidently, a lot of writers have problems getting through the final few pages. They feel emotionally attached to the script, like it’s a relationship. They feel like if they finish the script it will all be over. It’s not happened to me before, but I can understand this feeling.

I first felt it when I finished reading Steven King’s The Running Man. When I hit those final ten pages I felt sad. Not because the ending was sad or anything, but because the wondrous journey was all over. I red the book on a drive down from Michigan to visit my cousins in Knoville, TN. I think I was maybe fifteen. But I still remember that feeling. So I understand why writers feel that way when they approach the end of the script.

Alright, I’ve got to get to work. It’s 8:21 and I’ve got until 9:21 to write. Then I’ve got to watch LOST. It should be buffered enough in my DVR that I’ll be able to skip through all the commercials as I watch it.

Until then…

Enjoy,
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

