Posted by: steveonfilm | March 20, 2008

Words on Paper Draft is DONE!

I just finished act three. It took a bit longer than I expected, but I had a busy weekend (tornados all over the place) and wasn’t able to write.

But whew, I’m glad I got this finished up. It was a lot of fun and I’m glad I’ve finally got the “Words on Paper” draft complete. It’s a real mish-mash of ideas, thoughts, and action, but I have a good feeling for how the first draft is going to look when I get done with the rewrite.

It’s going to be fun going back through now and straightening things up. Turning character traits that emerged in the third act into things the characters have all through the script. Fixing continuity errors. Adding in scenes that I reference but haven’t yet written. Changing dialogue. Scenes. Making sure I get in late, and out early.

Syd was right, you don’t really get a feeling that your characters are talking to you until at least page sixty. Tom really started to talking to me around page 80 or so. Pretty late, but there nonetheless. I have a really strong sense of who he is now. In addition, Mitch and Tammy have emerged in my head into more complete characters, as well as a different aspect on who they are, and what they’re in the story for.

I’m posting up the “words on paper” draft, all 120 pages, as a reference for anyone who wants to look at it. Remember, this ISN’T a first draft. The story jumps, voice changes, you can see where I tried something new simply because it popped into my head. It’s sloppy. Dialogue is cliched. Some scenes seem forced. There are mistakes. Grammar is bad. But that’s what it’s supposed to be.

I’ll post the first draft after I get done with the rewrite. Then, anyone who is curious can see how things changed, and compare the two as a case study. I’m not saying anyone will. But as I stated at the beginning, I wanted this blog to be about the creative process, no matter how sloppy it may seem.

I’ll probably get started with the rewrite tonight, and tinker on with it for the next few weeks. I’ll post up commentary and other such things as I go through it. I might even do some before and after comparisons. Who knows?

Until then,
Enjoy….

-Steve

The Words On Paper Draft

Leave a Reply

Categories

