Posted by: steveonfilm | March 22, 2008

A response to e-mails

I’ve actually gotten three e-mails from people who started to read the “words on paper” draft of the screenplay I posted. I didn’t think anyone would check it out. Evidently some have. And those that have chosen to write me think it sucks.

A few things here…you’re probably right. This isn’t my best stuff. What it is, is the earliest of earliest type of draft a screenwriter can write. It’s not even a first draft. That’s what I’m working on now.

So, if you’re writing to tell me that it seems like a character suddenly changed the way they talk, you’re right, and that’s on purpose. You will also notice that stuff is dropped and not followed up on. Again, on purpose. The point of this draft was to get the shell of a story out and on paper, an accomplishment in and of itself. The point of the first draft is to take what worked in that shell and craft it into the actual story I want to tell.

I’m not saying that you’re not right in telling me the story doesn’t work. Or what I’m trying to do is dumb. Or that no one will like it. The characters aren’t interesting. Blah blah blah. But you’ve got to understand when, or if, you read the draft what you’re reading. I’m not trying to win an Oscar, or even get this produced, what I’m trying to do is just write a screenplay, and let others in on my creative process.

I just wanted to clear some stuff up.

Oh yeah, for anyone else who stumbles on this, if you’ve ever written anything send it my way. i’d love to read it.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Responses

  1. Don’t listen. Just keep writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

