Posted by: steveonfilm | May 14, 2008

Act One Redux

Sweet baby jesus! Act One has been rewritten, again, and is now in the can.

Here’s the link to it. Click on it if you’d like to read it.

Honestly, I’m tired of it now. Who knew tinkering one to two pages at a time was such a pain in the ass. But, on the flip side, this thing is much better than it was before.

First, it’s faster paced. I really concentrated on getting in late and out early.

Second, it’s down to just under 26 pages. I could probably trim another page off if I wanted to, but for now that’s not nessisary and would be more work than it’s worth.

Third, I’ve established all the main characters and their relationships with Tom. This was a HUGE weak spot I noticed after I read my “words on paper draft.”

Fourth, I’ve streamlined Tom’s character. I felt like I was trying to do too much before. He feels more like Tom, and less like someone trying to act like Tom.

And finally, it’s not terrible. Ha! I’m not saying it’s great, but I think it’s decent. I don’t usually feel this way about something until after the second or third draft. However, this time through, I’ve been putting much more work into my first draft, and the results, at least to me, are evident.

Now, with all the changes I made in Act One, I’m going to have to change up Act Two pretty substantially. I’ve got several new subplots I’m going to work in. The detail on Tom’s background needs to be firmly laid out (which I hinted at in Act One). And the mid point needs to be handled better.

I’ve had a lot of time to think about this stuff. Act Two is going to be some heavy lifting, but it’s really down hill from here. Act Three will need to be updated, but the overall story elements that happen aren’t going to change much. I’m just going to present them a bit different.

I’ll probably post up some free association writing as I explore a few different things for Act Two. So if you like reading those things you’ve got something to look forward to.

I’m giving myself a soft deadline of June 15th to get Act Two done. It seems like plenty of time right now, but we’ll see what happens as I get closer to that. On the plus side my wife is going out of town for a week at the beginning of June. So I’ll have at least a week with no distractions while I write.

I hope your writing is going great. And to anyone who’s entering stuff into Big Break, or the other contests starting up, best of luck!

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

