Posted by: steveonfilm | May 21, 2008

I had planned to write last night but…

…then the tornados came.

I was heading back from the gym at about 6 P.M. when the sirens hit. This is the second time in about 6 weeks we’ve been under a tornado warning. Last time they passed about 5 miles north of me. This time I wasn’t so lucky.

Reports are that a weak tornado with winds around 90 mph touched down briefly a quarter mile from my house. I saw the rotation pass over my head before the wife and I hit the bathroom for cover.

We’d lost power about fifteen minutes before. Right before we lost power the weather service had mentioned the warning had been lifted. It was still raining, and a bit windy, but nothing big. I poked my head out the front door right as the hail hit for the second time. I jotted back in to get the camera to take some pictures of the hail and then went back outside.

As I was taking pictures, the hail started to come down harder, then I saw the trees across from my house start twisting like they were possessed. I looked up and saw the rotation. The sirens hit just then. I bolted back in the house and went into the bathroom. It was me, the wife, my bird, the dog, and my Macbook.

We sat in the bathroom for a bit longer until things calmed down and my in-laws called. They told us about how the news showed our neighborhood in line for a direct hit. We were fine. Nothing was damaged. A few houses lost some siding. Some fences were down. It was trash night, so everyone who put their trash out earlier now had it all over the place. Other than that my subdivision was fine.

The rest of the area was worse. Down trees. Closed roads. Pandemonium.

The wife went over to the in-laws (they still had power) to watch the Idol finals while I stayed home to survey the damage. Power stayed out the whole time she was gone. I lit candles and did some dishes. Picked up tree branches. Stuff like that.

She came back, we packed an overnight bag, and then went to the in-laws for the night. It was too muggy out to try and sleep without power.

Things are back to normal now. A main road in my town is still closed due to the volume of big trees that had fallen, and the power lines they took down with it. But other than that, aside from leaves everywhere, nothing looks much different.

An exciting evening to say the least.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

