Posted by: steveonfilm | May 31, 2008

Movie Review: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Let me just say this… That was NOT an Indiana Jones movie. That was a…I don’t know what that was. But it certainly wasn’t an Indiana Jones movie. It didn’t feel right. It didn’t look right. It wasn’t right. It was…I don’t know…you know what, it should have been called Adventures of the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, or something else, using some other character other than Indiana Jones, and not staring Harrison Ford. If this movie didn’t have Indy in the title it would have BOMBED.

The movie could have worked. It could have. But it didn’t. At least I didn’t think it did. And from the people who I talked to briefly as we walked out of the theater, we weren’t the only ones. Something just wasn’t right. Maybe it’s because it was shot on digital instead of film. It looked different. Too clear. Not dirty enough. To…CGI? I mean, the backdrops in a lot of things just looked off. The Indy movies always walked a fine line between exaggerating reality and being too over the top, without ever actually crossing that line. More often than, this time around the crossed that line several times, and it became too hard to suspend disbelief.

On the plus side, the chase scenes were all pretty good, albeit with one major weak spot that involved swords (I’ll leave it at that), and what’s an Indy movie without a chase scene?

It wasn’t horrible. I’ve seen worse. A lot worse. It was just a huge let down, and it didn’t have to be. The story angle they took could have worked. But there was just too much forced dialog. Too much “we need to do this like this because we won’t get another chance to do it in another movie.” Too much over-the-top-ness, if that makes any sense.

I would suggest saving the money and seeing Ironman again, or just waiting to see Batman. This is a solid “wait to rent,” and it really hurts me to have to say that. Lucas and Spielberg really let me down with this one. Even more so than the new Star Wars movies did. It just wasn’t that good.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Post Note: I know a lot of people love to hate on Shia LaBeouf, but I like the kid, and thought he did a fine job. As long as he keeps himself clean, he’ll be around for a long time.

Responses

  1. Speaking of Karen Allen, I wrote an unsolicited script for a Starman sequel back in 1998. It was my first script and I quit college to finish it. It’s been gathering dust ever since. I sent it to Jeff Bridges and John carpenter, although I would prefer if Carpenter didn’t direct a sequel. I wrote some good f/x sequences and some interesting characters. I’m pretty sure I’ll never be involved, but I’d to see the f/x scene from the beach being incorporated, (Jeff’s manager Neil will know the one, totally plagiarised from another movie, but it would look great on film today). If anyone has any questions, email me at hansenfilm@yahoo.ie and I’ll answer them. (Although I won’t give away any plot points. And yes there is a son and indeed, I actually have the perfect casting suggestion!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

