Posted by: steveonfilm | August 5, 2008

Slow Progress Can Be Good Progress

I’m not that much further in Bystander than I was with my last post back on the 27th. I was at page 55 or so then, and I’m at page 68 now. But that’s not to say I haven’t been writing. Oh I’ve been writing. Writing my pants off.

I’m really starting to realize what Syd Field was talking about when he said that “on a good day you write three, maybe four pages.” I find myself putting something down, chewing on it, revising it, tinkering some more, revising again. Going over the same page time and time again.

It hasn’t all been revisions of stuff I’ve already written either. I think I mentioned that I introduced a new character called The Commodore. At first he was just an additional hitman I was going to use as a cutaway character. Someone to follow to break up the main story a bit. But I decided to give him some more oomph, if you will.

Anyway, I’d been shifting things around here and there and ran into some problems. Because of how I was going to use The Commodore, the ending needed to be revised. I just didn’t know how I was going to do it.

I mean, I knew how the final few scenes would play out. But I didn’t know how I needed to change what I already had. I literally walked around the house for two hours with my heads phones on just thinking.

I tried to visualize how things would work. How the climax would lead into the resolution. The way things would play out. The scene would pop into my head, and it was like I was fast forwarding, rewinding, and editing all at the same time. Then –POOF– it came into focus and I knew what I needed to do.

I sat down, jotted the notes down, and hit the sack. I was an odd night to say the least. While I didn’t get a lot written, I had actually accomplished quite a bit. Guess it goes to show that progress isn’t always measured by how many pages you throw down.

Well, unless that’s how you’re being paid. In that case it’s exactly how progress is measured.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Responses

  1. So funny story I stumbled upon this site about 3 weeks ago. I had just gotten final draft and searched how to use final draft into youtube and bam there is your video. Then I looked at your site and I pretty much skimmed through every post. I’m starting the process of writing my first screenplay and decided to blog about it.

    Thanks man and keep writing
    Aaron.

    • Thanks for stopping by man! Good luck on your first screen play. If you have any questions let me know and I’ll try to help as best I can.


Leave a Reply

Categories

