Posted by: steveonfilm | August 7, 2008

Temporary Change Of Work Space

I starting coming down with a migraine around 9:30 last night, give or take 15 minutes. Up until that point I had been enjoying a nice glass of Chardonnay and some Jazz. I like to have a glass in the evenings to loosen up while writing. The wife likes to have a glass when she’s doing some work in the evenings. It’s a win win for everyone.

I don’t know about you but I can’t write with a headache. At the time that’s all I thought it was. A simple headache. Then I woke up at 1 with the pounding behind my eyes and in the front of my forehead. Full on migraine. Not fun.

Needless to say I didn’t sleep to well the rest of the night.

I woke up at my usual 6 to get ready for work. I tried to get up. But I knew I wasn’t going to win against the migraine. I called in to work around 7.

I was pretty miserable this morning. Couldn’t really get out of bed until after ten. Just sat in the darkness. The dog kept me company. He loves just laying on the bed.

Finally I got out of bed, made sure all the blinds were closed (I like it dark when I have a migraine), and put on some coffee. The migraine was starting to go away a bit, but it was still something fierce. No time for my typical 6 egg white, one yolk, omlette and three pieces of whole wheat toast. Some PB&J and banana was all I could manage.

I turned on the computer and just sort of sat around for a while. Steve Inskeep and Renee Montagne on NPR doing their best to soothe things over. Thank God KCRW is 3 hours behind.

I tried to start writing. I had just wrapped up the end of act two on Bystander last night. Before the migraine hit I was starting act three. The scenes I’ve got for it from my last draft are okay. I mean, the skeleton of what I want is there. But the presentation wasn’t exactly how I wanted it.

I sat and tinkered with it for a while this morning. But finally gave up. I just wasn’t getting it done.

So I decided to take my work on the road.

I’m not sure how it is for other writers but I do most of my writing in the same spot. Upstairs. In the loft. At my desk. Every now and then I chill out on the chair downstairs. But usually its in the same spot. Maybe it’s because I like routine. Who knows? But that’s where I write.

The idea hit me that maybe I’d have some luck if I got out of the house. Maybe I wasn’t getting anywhere because I was a bit stir crazy. After all, I had been home all day yesterday. So I took my Macbook and headed to The Woodstock Coffee House.

I ordered a cappuccino, just for a change of pace, put some Miles Davis on, and got to work. Man, what a refreshing change. I was able to get past my problems from earlier in the morning. Ideas were flowing fresh and new. I probably got through a god five or six pages in an hour, easy.

Maybe it was the new environment, but I hadn’t really tried writing outside the home before. I’d never taken it on the road. It was nice. I’ve got my coffee. I’ve got internet. I’ve got my phone. A nice chair. It’s sort of like being at home, without the whole home part.

I’m beginning to think I might need to try this more often. Without the migraine of course.

Have any other writers out there found that a temporary change of work space has helped them work past some issues, road blocks, problems? Or maybe it just offered a refreshing change of pace?

I’d be curious to hear what you did.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

