Posted by: steveonfilm | December 10, 2008

Finished: Marianas, 3rd Draft

Stick a fork in it.

The last 15 pages were really tough to get through. Not because they were hard to write, it was just a matter of staying focused.

Once you’ve mentally moved on from a project, it’s hard to stick with the grind to actually complete it. That’s what I was dealing with.

I’m already working on this sort of horror flick that deals with something I call “the sadness.” So of course every 5 minutes something else was popping into my head I needed to look up something in Wikipedia or Google.

At any rate, my 3rd draft of Marianas is done and it’s leaps and bounds better than what I had before.

When I compare my second draft (which was written two years ago) to this one, it’s kind of like looking at a picture of yourself in middle school. While you can see the foundation of what you’d eventually turn into, you’re still amazed at how bad you look.

Now, one to my next project!

Enjoy.
-Steve

Responses

  1. Congratulations Steve, its gotta feel like a large weight has been lifted from your shoulders. Keep on cranking stuff out if the motivation and inspiration is there.

    You know I just read an article in the LA Times about a screenwriter who had done a little work in Minnesota but a novice to the game overall, and who got his script into the hands of Clint Eastwood who barely changed a thing and turned it into “Gran Torino”. So the game is still open to everyone. So keep writing.

  2. Thanks.

    It always feels great to close out a project.

    I’ve got the printed copy sitting next to me know, but I think I’ll wait a few days to go through it with the red pen.

    That’s pretty crazy about Gran Torino. Nick Schenk sounds like a good guy. I feel the same way. Why write? Why not? You know… it beats knitting. At least to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

