Posted by: steveonfilm | April 20, 2009

For the record…

…I HATE sinus infections. Especially the one I am currently suffering from. Started coming down with it on Friday. But I’m not going to go into more detail, it’s gross and painful to say the least.

I was in DC this past weekend for my friend Ryley’s wedding. I’ve mentioned him a few times on here. I was his only “non-industry” friend there. In other words, all of his other friends that we attending were either in LA trying to make a living, or is currently actually making a living. I got to hear some interesting stories to say the least.

One of the other neat aspects of my trip was getting a chance to do some research for my writing. I’ve got two separate screenplays that are in various stages of development (meaning outside of the first draft) that have characters and events concentrated in DC. Some of the locations I’ve only been able to see via pictures on Google. But with this trip I was able to go there, first hand, and take it all in.

It was enough of an inspiration that I started some coffee Saturday morning, opened the window, and just looked outside into DC proper (the White House in the background), and started writing. It was a new opening for one of the aforementioned screenplays. The end result is the same, but the realness of the scenes was now significantly better. I wasn’t just glossing over a location, I had actually been there now. And I was able to approach it from a different perspective.

I was a solid learning experience.

Enjoy.
-Steve

Responses

  1. awesome. It helps to be somewhere you’re writing about. I’ve been dying to go to New Orleans to work on Storyville thoughts…just dying to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

