Posted by: steveonfilm | June 29, 2009

Weekend Box-Office June 26th-28th

We all know who number one was. We knew who number one was going to be this weekend MONTHS ago. And regardless of the terrible reviews, Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen still printed money for Paramount over it’s five day run.

I haven’t seen it yet. But I will, if only because my boy Lance Ranzer worked on the film. None of you know Lance, but I’d venture to say almost all of you have seen some of his work. Don’t beleive me? Check out his IMDB page here.

Anyway, The Proposal barely hung in ay number two by holding off The Hangover by less than two million. Up continued to rack it up for Pixar at number four. And My Sister’s Keeper (the feel good movie of the summer?) opened up in fifth.

The bottom five include Year One, The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3, Star Trek, Night at the Museum 2, and Away We Go. Nice to see Land of the Lost off the radar.

Here’s the numbers:

1. Transformers 2 $ 112 Million
2. The Proposal $ 18.5 Million
3. The Hangover $ 17.2 Million
4. Up $ 13 Million
5. My Sister’s Keeper $ 12 Million
6. Year One $ 5.8 Million
7. The Taking of Pelham $ 5.4 Million
8. Star Trek $ 3.6 Million
9. Night at the Museum 2 $ 3.5 Million
10. Away We Go $ 1.7 Million

Opening up this week we’ve got Public Enemies shooting up the joint on July 1st. I’m a huge mark for Michael Mann, and a pretty big Johnny Depp and Christian Bale fanboy (when Bale isn’t beating women or yelling at DPs), so I’m pretty stoked about this one. Also opening July 1st is Ice Age 3 Blah Blah Blah… enjoy that one with your kids, if you have them. That’s really it, unless you dig art house films. Which in that case you’ve got I Hate Valentines Day and Local Color to look forward to opening up on July 3rd.

I’m more interested to see how Transformers stacks up against Public Enemies next week. I think TF2 will stay at number one, but PE definitely is the adult movie of the weekend. And we all know how much the ladies love Johnny. So it’ll be interesting to see how that effects the TF2 take for the second weekend.

I’m out of town this weekend, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to catch TF2 or PE. I’d like to see one of them, but if I can’t corral up some interest with the people I’m staying with it looks like I’m screwed.

Until next time kiddies…
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

