Posted by: steveonfilm | August 30, 2009

Served Cold Challenge: Day Seven

Typically on Saturday I do two separate blocks of writing. One to two hours in the morning. And then one to two hours in the evening. This sort of schedule fits how my The Wife and I usually go about our Saturdays and Sundays. Lazy mornings, relaxing afternoons, and going out to dinner in the evening.

But today was different. Today The Wife and I had tickets to the taping of the ten year anniversary show for Food Network’s “Good Eats.” I’ve never been to a television taping, and it was a lot of fun. I don’t know when the show will air, but I’d guess it’ll be in a few weeks. If you’re a fan of Alton Brown, or the show Good Eats, make sure you catch it.

Anyway, the taping was about three hours. And it was smack in the middle of the day. So we didn’t get to do any of the errands we had to run until after we ate dinner, and we didn’t get to lay around the house much this morning either. So instead of two writing sessions today, I only had one big one in the evening. And man, was it good. Seven pages good.

(Note: When I refer to a writing session as being good, I mean that as a synonym for productive, not that the actually writing I did was “good.” For all I know it sucks and makes people want to tear their eyes out, but that’s not the point of what I’m getting at.)

I’m actually really surprised that I got to seven pages. I did a lot of back and forth on a specific scene, spending an inordinate amount of time with it. It’s really dialog heavy, and serves to frame up the action that’s going to take place over most of the second act. I’m still not very satisfied with the dialog, but the important thing is that I did get out the framework of the conversation. I put in all the main fence posts, I’m just not happy with how I strung them all together.

But that happens. It’s part of the writing process. I’ll file the scene away in the back of my head and continue chew on it while I work forward on my draft. When I come back around on a revision, I’ll hopefully be able to take a step back, pull out what’s not working, and leave only the meatiest parts left that get right to the crux of what needs to happen.

I’m sitting just over 17 pages right now for act two A, which I’m pretty happy with. The major beats that are left aren’t dialog or action heavy, so I might be able to get through them in 5-7 more pages, which will put me in the 22-25 page range, which is good. That’s right where I’d want to be.

As usual, if you are so inclined, you can download today’s pages in the link at the end of this post. If you do check it out, I’m pretty sure you’ll know exactly the problem scene I was talking about earlier in the post.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Served Cold Challenge – Day Seven

Leave a Reply

Categories

