Posted by: steveonfilm | August 31, 2009

Served Cold Challenge: Day Nine

Act two A is in the bag. I came in at 23 page which is less than I was expecting, but a good sign nonetheless. However, while I was writing tonight I ran into a scene that I found pretty difficult to write.

I’ve mentioned before that the main character in Served Cold is Ryan Fisher who is in his late 20s, early 30s at most. He has a younger brother, Shawn, who is in his early teens. I picture him as 13, maybe 14. Shawn has leukemia, and is undergoing chemotherapy.

Now, I know the entire backstory on Shawn, and I’m not going to bore you with the details. But to me he’s a completely fleshed out character. And a character who’s gone through a lot more in his 13 years than most people go through in their entire life. He’s a good kid, a smart kid, who doesn’t deserve the cards that life has dealt him.

There is a scene where Ryan gives Shawn a birthday present, and Shawn tells Ryan for the first time that he thinks he’s going to die. I don’t know what it is, but I completely lost it while I was writing. Everything about this character’s struggle, his courage, and his fear just boiled to a point that resonated with me. I don’t think this is something that people reading the script will take. Because, to them, Shawn is just the few snippets of his life that I’ve shown. But to me, he represents everything that is unfair to all children. He’s almost a real person. I know the struggles he’s went through. And I know that he’s really scared. Scared that he’s going to die, and that he’ll never know what he could have been.

This is the first time that something like that has happened to me. If anything it let me realize that I KNOW this character. I know him like i know anyone else in my life. I’ve brought him to a level of development where he’s really speaking for himself. And while he only exists in my mind, kids like him exist all over the world, and I can’t help but think if there maybe wasn’t more I, or anyone else, could do to help them.

Sorry to end the post on a downer. I really did have a good night in all actuality.

The evenings contributions are posted below in PDF format as usual.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Served Cold Challenge – Day 9

Leave a Reply

Categories

