Posted by: steveonfilm | September 6, 2009

Served Cold Challenge – Day Fifteen

I managed to put down five pages today, though I’m not too happy with them. The pinch of Act Two B is a bank heist. Specifically, a con job that gets the protagonist into a vault to steal a painting. And that’s the sequence I wrote today.

Mechanically there isn’t anything wrong with the sequence. But for whatever reason I’m just not satisfied with it, and it’s enough of a feeling that I don’t think it’s something that can wait until my first revision to address. So I’ll likely tinker with it tomorrow.

It’s weird though because I don’t feel like it’s bad, it’s just not right, if that makes any sense. It certainly reads okay. Nothing brilliant, but I’ve written far worse. Its just… I don’t really know how to explain it. Maybe after getting some rest and coming back to it tomorrow I’ll have figured out what’s eating me.

I’m sitting at a solid 20 pages right now in Act Two B. I’d like to have been at maybe page 15 right now, but it is what it is, and I can deal with the length later. There are plenty of things I can trim and scenes and sequences I can make more efficient.

If you haven’t seen it yet, I posted the video I was talking about yesterday. It’s a brief introduction to the Final Draft and Celtx screenwriting software. I figured there might have been people out there who wanted to see what they’re like, how they look, and how they might operate, so with the aid of OS 10.6’s new screen-casting feature, I decided to make a video to do just that.

You can find my progress for the day in PDF format down below.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Served Cold Challenge – Day 15

Leave a Reply

Categories

