Posted by: steveonfilm | September 8, 2009

Served Cold Challenge – Day Seventeen

I’m done with Act Two B. It took me putting down 12 pages, but it’s done, and I am exhausted. I tinkered with it for the greater part of the day. One page here. Half a page there. It’s a little wordy, but it’s got the meat of what needs to happen.

Overall, Act Two B came out to 36 pages. It’s longer than I wanted it to be, but a lot happens, so it wasn’t completely surprising. When I combine it with Act Two A, the grand total for Act Two is 59 pages. Again, longer than I want it to be, but this is a first draft, and that sort of thing is to be expected.

Ideally I’d like Act Two to be around 50 pages total. That’s nine pages I’ll need to drop off. I’m not sure how that’s gonna happen, but I’ll worry about that when I take out my red pen.

It’s nice to get Act Two behind me. I always find it the hardest part of a screenplay to write, and I know I’m not alone. It’s big. It’s bulky. It’s the meat of the story. And if you screw things up it will ruin everything that happens before and after. So yeah, it’s nice to get that over with and move on to Act Three.

Speaking of Act Three, I’m not sure if I’m going to start on that tomorrow, or take a day off. I’ve got a few movies that should be arriving in the mail, and I might want to watch those instead.

As usual today’s progress is posted below.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Served Cold Challenge – Day Seventeen

Leave a Reply

Categories

