Posted by: steveonfilm | September 14, 2009

Served Cold Challenge: Day Twenty Three

I Win

I Win


I finished my “words on paper” draft tonight. It felt SO GOOD to write FADE OUT. I ended up writing just about as much as I expected I would. Some tinkering with the phone conversation between Garnier and Fisher, and then finishing the final action sequence, and wrapping things up with two more brief scenes at the end.

I’m pleased with how things turned out. I mean, you know, for all I know this is the most unoriginal script of all time and reads like a third grader wrote it, but that’s not the point. The point is I finished a story. I started it. I ended it. And it’s all mine. And that feels good.

Turns out I came in at just barely 117 pages, with cover. That’s honestly a surprise. I really thought this would come out at over 120 pages, maybe pushing 130. But on the flip side Act Three moves quickly, so that had something to do with it.

I’ll be printing out the “words on paper” draft tomorrow at work. It just takes too long to do it on my printer at home. 117 pages zips through on a enterprise level laser printer. On a home printer, not so much. And they don’t really at work care since I tell them I bring in my own paper (which I don’t), but who’s really counting?

Once I get it printed it’s RED PEN TIME! HUZZAH! I know some writers hate going in and marking up their drafts, but I love it. It’s a good chance to take a step back, look at what you’ve got with a critical eye, and mark up the things you need to do to make it better. Outside of obvious spelling and grammar issues, I typically will make notes on plot holes, ambiguities, or dialog I need to touch up.

For example, a plot element, or scene, may make complete sense to me because I know back story. However, when reading it over, I can realize that it’s too ambiguous, or it appears like a plot hole when it’s really not. A lot of times a simple line here, or some additional dialog there can fix something like that. Depending on the issue, it might take a lot more to fix. I don’t anticipate many of the big ones, since I spent a lot of time planning and plotting out this story, but I know of a few smaller ones off the top of my head I need to clean up.

Anyway, enough is enough. I’m calling it a night. I’ve posted the PDF of tonight’s writing below.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Served Cold Challenge – Day Twenty Three

Leave a Reply

Categories

