Posted by: steveonfilm | September 29, 2009

Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas

The Netflix fairy delivered me a new movie today. It is one “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.” I’ve never seen this flick and always been curious about it. I don’t know a whole lot about Hunter S. Thompson, but what I’ve read about him has been fascinating, and this is an adaption of one of his most famous novels.

For those unfamiliar with the movie here’s the trailer:

So we’ve got Johnny Depp, Benicio del Toro, Tobey Maguire, Ellen Barkin, Gary Busey, Christina Ricci, Mark Harmon, Cameron Diaz, Penn Jillette, Michael “Flea” Balzary, and Verne Troyer in a movie directed by Terry Giliam? Sign me up!

Supposedly this was a “flop” at the box office, but went on to do really well in the aftermarket on VHS/DVD. I’ve got a feeling this is going to be one of those movies that the marketing department had NO IDEA how to market.

“We can’t stop here, this is bat country!”

Should be fun.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

[Update: I can see why this flopped. I lost interest an hour through. Although I finished it, I couldn’t get into it and didn’t really enjoy it. I’m as big a fan of Terry Giliam movies as anyone, but maybe the source material from Thompson was just too bizarre to adapt to the screen.]

Leave a Reply

Categories

