Posted by: steveonfilm | December 3, 2009

Adapting Real Life Events Into A Screenplay

In this video I talk a bit about some of the problems and issues I’ve run into while trying to adapt real life events into a screenplay. I’ve never written a story based on “real life events,” so I thought some of my experiences and challenges might be useful for some other amateur writers to hear about. I also talk a bit about the method I’m going to use to write my next screenplay.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Prefontaine and Breaking Away are movies I grew up on that involved people going up against the odds when it came to racing (foot or bike). There’s always an element of athlete preparation, which I think would be an interesting aspect…think Rocky. Since your uncle’s school never had a steeplechase program, your uncle had to develop his own regiment. I think this would be incredibly interesting when it comes to explanation…perhaps he does something, from his distance racing, that the Big 10 coaches never thought of, that one thing that gives him his competitive edge over the others. There’s all sorts of things you can play with here.

    Keep me posted.

  2. Yeah, I’ve got Prefontaine sitting here on my desk, and Without Limits. I never thought of Rocky, but that’s a good idea for some reference.

  3. Hey Steve – Thanks for sharing your process. Glad I stumbled upon your blog. Adaptations certainly have their own unique challenges – but you seem to be an aware screenwriter and on the right path to ensuring a dramatic and well-structured story. I look forward to following your progress.

    • Thanks for stopping by Laura. You’ve got a kick ass blog. I’ve been looking around for around an hour or so. Some really great stuff on here. Especially the outline for Twins.


Leave a Reply

Categories

