Posted by: steveonfilm | December 24, 2009

My Top Ten Christmas Movies

I’ve been thinking about posting this list for a long time. I’ve gone back and forth on it, but finally decided “what the hell.” So here it is.

There is only ONE requirement for this list, it has to take place on, or around, Christmas. That’s it. It doesn’t have to BE about Christmas, it just has to take place on, or around, it. Period.

You’ll notice the list is relatively new. There isn’t a single black and white movie on it. It’s not that I haven’t seen those old black and white movies, I have, I just don’t get the warm and fuzzies from them. And maybe since they’re so old, I feel like they’re cliche, even though they’re the movies that actually created the cliches in the first place.

Bottom line, this is my list, based on my preference, and I can totally agree with people who have different lists. I’m not going to say my list is the best, it’s just my list.

So here we go:

1. Die Hard
2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
3. A Christmas Story
4. Lethal Weapon
5. Home Alone
6. Love Actually
7. A Charlie Brown Christmas
8. Scrooged
9. Elf
10. Gremlins

Why Die Hard at number 1? Why not!? It’s one of my favorite movies of all time, and it takes place on Christmas. So there you go. That’s enough to make it to number one on my list.

I hope everyone has a great Holiday season!

Enjoy.
-Steve

P.S. Having a cold for Christmas sucks.

UPDATE: I TOTALLY forgot that “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang” starts around Christmas, even having one scene take place at a Christmas party. I’m putting this one up there as an honorable mention.

Leave a Reply

Categories

