Posted by: steveonfilm | January 3, 2010

Pride is Forever: Day 28

New Years has come and gone. The work week starts again tomorrow. And I’ve been busy getting back to some real writing again.

I’ve managed eight pages over the last two days. I’m not sure I’ll finish up “the first ten pages” right at page ten. There is a pretty big sequence that will finish in the next page or so, half way through act one, and it’s as good a spot to end the “first ten pages” as any.

Here’s a .pdf of what I’ve got so far: Pages 1-8

I’m starting to get a feel for the main characters, but it’s still not clicking completely yet. I might do some ‘free screenwriting’ over the next few days to explore how I want to approach some upcoming scenes, try out some personality traits, and other basic things I want to experiment with outside of the actual screenplay.

I’ve found doing this in the past, especially with Served Cold, was very beneficial to my writing and I don’t expect anything else to go differently here.

The next chapter in “The Screenwriter’s Workbook” is “The Second and Third Ten Pages.” So basically I’ll be finishing up the first act within this chapter and the next. This story, at least at this point, moves pretty quickly so I don’t think act one will break down into three ten pages sections. Honestly, I’m not sure I’ll come close to thirty pages. I’m getting more of a 25 page type of feeling right now, but who knows, I could be wrong.

Like I’ve done in the past, I’ll post up whatever progress I make on a nightly basis. I would have posted up what I wrote last night, but I stopped writing for a bit to play some Modern Warfare 2, and, well, you know how that goes. Before I knew it 2 AM rolled by and I just decided to hit the sack.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

