Posted by: steveonfilm | January 5, 2010

Pride is Forever: Day 30

Man, thirty days into this project already! Seems like I just started yesterday.

I managed to put down about 3 pages or so tonight. Not HUGE progress, but progress nonetheless. I’m not sure why I couldn’t get into the groove writing tonight. I just wasn’t feeling it. I spent a lot of time tinkering with what I’d written on page 8. I just wasn’t satisfied with how I had started the sequence. Eventually it started to feel right, and then everything else began to flow out.

I spent a lot of time with the dialog at the bottom of page 10 and the top of page 11. I mean A LOT of time. Probably a good hour or so. Two steps forward, one step back, one step forward, three back, lather, rinse, repeat. For whatever reason it was really hard for me to get satisfied with what I was trying to accomplish in that scene. I don’t know if it’s because deep down inside somewhere I have issues with the scene, or I’m just not certain I’m approaching what I want to say the right way or not. Eventually I just had to accept what I’d written and move on to the next scene.

You can find my progress for the evening here: Pride is Forever – Pages 8-11

I’ve got a feeling the next few sequences will flow out a little easier.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

