Posted by: steveonfilm | February 24, 2010

It’s Semantics At This Point

I guess you could say I’m “done” with my outline for “Pride is Forever.”

“But Steve,” you say, “if it was finished you’d have posted the files on here. Which you haven’t. Thus, you’re lying to us. Why should we ever trust you again!?”

Truth is, I used the scare quotes on the word done for a reason. From a technical sense I’ve completed my outline. All the beats have some notes. I’ve spent some time fleshing out every sequence I’ve got down. I know my material really well. But I still feel like I have some tinkering to do.

There are a few items that I want to go back and review, and some relationship bits I want to take another look at before I commence “screenwriting.”

Why am I so cautious? Because once I transition from outlining to screenwriting I’m going to post a “challenge” video just like I did for “Served Cold.” Any I don’t want to jump the gun here until I’m 100% sure I’m satisfied with what I’ve put together with my outline. Otherwise, I’m just setting myself up for failure.

I’m going to post some stuff tomorrow about why I write my outlines the way I do, but for now I’ll leave all of you aspiring screenwriters out there with this:

“You know that sickening feeling of inadequacy and over-exposure you feel when you look upon your own empurpled prose? Relax into the awareness that this ghastly sensation will never, ever leave you, no matter how successful and publicly lauded you become. It is intrinsic to the real business of writing and should be cherished” -Will Self

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

