Posted by: steveonfilm | March 6, 2010

Pride is Forever Challenge – Day 6

I managed to finish up Act 1 this afternoon. It came in right at thirty pages, which is honestly a bit longer than I expected.

I ended up using pretty much the entire race sequence I’d already written perviously for the end of Act 1, so that explains why I was able to wrap it up so quickly.

That’s no to say its a bad thing. If it works, it works. No use changing it.

When I finished I took some time to read over what I’d wrote. Some of it really clicks, other parts are sort of “meh.” However, I felt satisfied that I was able to get down the message I was trying to say with each scene. What I mean is that sometimes you can’t really nail how you want to say something. But you manage to get the message of what you want to say down. You write around what you’re trying to say, but you don’t get down exactly what you want to say. I hope this makes some sense.

I don’t obsess over getting everything perfect the first time. I do however keep writing and rewriting until I’m satisfied that I’ve captured the message of what I’m trying to say. I don’t move on from a scene until I’m certain that when I come back to it I’ll know exactly what I was trying to say when I left it.

You can always go back and streamline things. Tinker with the dialog until it’s tight and perfect. Make things more vertical. Remove unnecessary lines. But unless you actually have down a scene of sequence that accomplishes providing the message you need it to, that’s all just window dressing.

At least that’s how I view it. I’m sure professionals go about things a bit differently.

Here’s a link to pages 20-30: Pride is Forever – WOP – Pages 20 – 30

I’ll probably start writing Act 2 tonight.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

