Posted by: steveonfilm | March 8, 2010

Dialog Issues

I got an e-mail from a reader who was nice enough to read through all of Act One for “Pride is Forever.”

They wanted to let me know they thought some of the dialog I’d written in a few places was “absolutely dreadful,” and not of the same leve I’d written in “Served Cold.” They’re actually spot on, so I wasn’t entirely surprised at the scenes they pointed out. However, there’s a few reasons that it’s as weak as it is.

First, this is a words on paper draft. Meaning, it’s not even a first draft and I’m still sort of feeling out how the charactes talk. Second, dialog tends to get better for your characters are you continue to write them. It’s not usually until somewhere during Act Two that they really start to speak for themselves. Three, you’re comparing a finished product with a product that is very much still in production. It’s not really an apples to apples thing. And fourth, when I finish the words on paper draft of “Pride is Forever,” I’ll go back through it and bring the dialog up so that it’s even throughout the whole script. It should be along the same lines of quality as I have in “Served Cold.” Quality is a relative term here, and I mean it in regard to my work specificially, not in comparission to any actual professional scripts out there.

I’m not defending what I’ve written, so much as just saying to keep things in perspective when you’re reading something. When I post up a pdf of my progress, it’s really just to give other aspiring writers out there who may have not yet dipped their toe in the waters an idea of what a fellow amatuers work looks like. My goal is to hopefully make things look less intimidating for them, and help them take that final step and actually start writing.

Just wanted to take a second to clear that up.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

