Posted by: steveonfilm | March 28, 2010

On Writer’s Block…

I’ve never accepted the idea of writer’s block. You either figure it out, or you quit. I mean, there is nothing in your head that is stopping you from “writing.” You figure it out. Or you don’t. Period. Everything else is an excuse.

I came across a paragraph in a story on the upcoming “Kick Ass” in the March/April edition of Creative Screenwriting that sums up my feelings pretty well. During the article creator Mark Millar says, in regard to writer’s block,

“I just keep writing. The worst thing you can do with writer’s block is stop and go for coffee and go meet friends. That’s when I think you go from being professional to amateur. Because when you’ve got bills to pay and deadlines to meet, you just keep working. I mean, I’ve never met a neurosurgeon who has neurosurgeon’s block, you know?”

If you haven’t checked out the current edition of Creative Screenwriting, do yourself a favor and go pick it up. The article about “Kick Ass” and it’s writers alone is worth it.

-Steve

Responses

  1. Ooo, I like that idea. I’ve been knocking around the idea of how I get into the practice of writing 2k of words per day. Don’t ask me why 2k, I guess NANOWRIMO put that figure in my head.

    • 2000 words per day is a tall task, especially if it’s a screenplay. A novel I could see possible. But a screenplay…man, that’s a tall order. What’s NANOWRIMO?


Leave a Reply

Categories

