Posted by: steveonfilm | April 18, 2010

Cyberspace Open: Entry Submitted

Eventually you have to stop typing and just consider it complete.

So that’s what I did.

I submitted my entry to the contest’s website, and now hope for the best.

If you’re curious, you can read my entry here: Run

This contest was a lot of fun, and I’m pretty sure I’ll enter again next year. I’m not expecting to make it to the next round, but it never hurts to try.

If anything, it made me feel pretty good that after being given a simple premise on Friday night, I basically had a finished product by Sunday afternoon. As they upload website told me “…congratulate yourself for having the courage to say, “I can create on deadline,” and then doing it.”

I’m not sure if what I wrote will be what the judge who reads my “script” will be looking for. But I at least hope they’re not bored while reading it. I mean, really that was my only goal.

Anyway, to anyone else out there who entered, best of luck to you. And if you didn’t enter, give it a try next year, I think you’ll enjoy it.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Hey Steve,

    I thought your entry was pretty good — you especially did a nice job with your pace, which seems appropriate given the topic. You built the tension going into the end pretty well.

    I entered this year as well and, much like yourself, finally just had to consider my scene finished late last night. I hope it will be good enough to make Round 2, but I’m also satisfied just knowing that I completed what I think is a pretty decent scene, given the time.

    Best of luck, and keep us posted if you hear back.

    Daniel

    • Thanks for the nice words Daniel. When it comes to contests like this, I figure the judges are looking for a certain type of delivery, and either your entry has what they’re looking for or it doesn’t.

      I’m worried my “inspiration” won’t be original/unique/unexpected enough to be what they’re looking for, but like you said, just doing the project and completing it was half the fun.

      Best of luck to you as well, and I’ll be sure to check out your blog.

  2. Hello Steve,

    I thought the rallying or provoking by the mentor was really cool. It took me by surprise that it was a flashback, and I thought it was a clever way to do it. I am pretty sure that it meets the one scene (scene unit) requirement, and it was a fun read.

    Oh hey, just a heads up, they are doing it again this fall. By it I mean the cs open. Check it out at:

    http://www.screenwritingexpo.com/writingtournament.2010.html

    Good Luck! Hope to see ya in the next round!!!

    -Sean

    • Thanks Sean. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. Did you enter as well? I didn’t know they did this contest more than once a year, I’ll be sure to enter in the fall too.

  3. Yeah I entered too. And I entered last year and the year before… haha…This is the first year they’ve done it twice though.

    • I’ll probably enter it again in the fall. Though, I don’t know how many more times after that I’ll enter.

      BTW, love your e-mail handle. TK421… subtle.

  4. Hahaha… thanks!

  5. Well, unfortunately I received a score of 84 and didn’t make it.

    How’d you guys do?

    • Scored a 95. On to round two!!

  6. Steve,

    Congratulations on making it to the finals!

    I am one of your fellow finalists. However, I just barely squeaked into the finals with a score of 93, so I’m not holding out much hope for the next round.

    Nonetheless, I’ll still have fun trying. Here’s to delivering on a super short deadline!

    • AJ, GREAT JOB!!!!

      I wouldn’t worry about that score.

      You’ve got the talent, just write, rewrite, rewrite, and give it your all.

      But yeah, this is certainly going to be fun.

      Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

