Posted by: steveonfilm | April 27, 2010

Multitasking

I’m not sure which project I want to work on next. Usually, when I finish one screenplay, I already know what my next project is going to be. I’ve got a clear concept of the story. And I start banging away at the outline. This time, not so much.

I’ve had an idea in the back of my head for a few months now that’s sort of a supernatural detective story. However, there are still too many missing pieces for me to really start working on it in earnest. You can’t really start writing a story until you know the beginning and the end. My problem is that I know the middle, if that makes any sense. It’s like, there are a few key beats in the middle of the story I know I want to do, but I’m not sure how to get there or how to end it. I guess there are worse problems you can have as a screenwriter. I’m not giving up on this story though. I’ll keep messing with it until I figure out the narrative.

In the mean time, I’m going to work on some other stories at the same time. Long time readers of the blog might recognize the title “One Day At A Time.” That’s the first screenplay I wrote when I started this blog. I’ve wanted to go back and do a new draft of this script for a while, so I figured now is as good a time as ever. So while I work on the supernatural detective thing, I’m also working on a new outline for “One Day At A Time.”

Also, I’ve been tinkering with some new stuff for a new draft of “Bystander.” And I’m still red lining my word on paper draft of “Pride is Forever.”

I’ve got a lot to work with, and as I tinker along one of the projects I’m messing with will move to the forefront, and it will be what I concentrate on. I don’t usually like working on more than one thing at a time. But I want to stay busy, and I’ve got a lot of stuff I can work on, so I’m taking advantage of that.

What do some of you do when you’re in a similar predicament?

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Hey, good question. I like to keep things moving, and keep writing in general, its easy to get rusty fast if you don’t keep writing, and so I try to listen to as many stories as possible, read as many things as possible, and keep the ideas fresh. However, if something isn’t ready to write, you’ll hit a wall at some point and wanna stop, then going back to it seems much less appetizing than the idea of getting it down did in the first place. Rewriting an old project is always good, but only if you feel it has potential to exemplify your writing. I have a couple of projects that need a lot of rewriting, but overall, they’re mot worth much in the long run. So I’ll let those go, chalk them up as learning experiences. The right idea will hit you and hit you hard…keep working on stuff until then, but don’t commit to something that isn’t ready. You wouldn’t get married after the first few dates, don’t write a screenplay after a couple good ideas and thoughts put together.

    • Yeah, I feel the same way about things. I knew when it was time to write Served Cold because the story hit me pretty hard. I knew it was time to write Pride is Forever because the story was all there. I’ve got ideas right now, but nothing definitive, so I’m just brainstorming, outlining, and moving things around to see what I end up gravitating toward.


Leave a Reply

Categories

