Posted by: steveonfilm | May 6, 2010

Tinkering

I’ve been completely blindsided by not knowing what I’m going to work on next. I thought by now that I’d have started to outline a new project, but I just can’t seem to get the gears working. I don’t want to use the word writer’s block, because I don’t believe in it. I’m just having a hard to piecing together a story.

It’s like when you wake up from a dream, and you’re trying to remember what it was about. You have glimpses of events, but no overall narrative to string what you can remember together. That’s what I feel like right now.

I’ve got two new stories that I’ve been working on fleshing out. There are some broad concepts, but I can’t seem to put together any sort of narrative for them. So I just keep free writing, brain storming, and writing test scenes, hoping something comes together. So far it hasn’t.

In the mean time, I’m also look back on former projects to see if I can rewrite anything. I mentioned I was working on an outline for “One Day At A Time,” but that’s not progressing like I’d hoped.

I’m playing with as many things as I can right now, looking for that project or idea that just explodes in my head. It’s like my friend Dusty said, “The right idea will hit you and hit you hard…keep working on stuff until then, but don’t commit to something that isn’t ready.” He’s right. Eventually I’ll find I’ve gravitated toward one project in particular, and before I know it I’ll have half an outline complete.

I’ll just have to keep on keeping on.

-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

