Posted by: steveonfilm | May 19, 2010

Round Two… FIGHT!

I woke up this morning, made some coffee, and checked my e-mail. I saw a message with the subject line “Cyberspace Open Spring 2010 Round 1 Winners, Scores, Feedback Posted.”

I thought, “Drats. If I’d made it to the second round, surely they would have notified me with a direct e-mail letting me know.”

I opened the e-mail and there were two links inside. One, was to a page of the top 100 finalists, the other to a page with everyone on it. I clicked on the second link, found my name, and read the following…

Name: Steven Pryor
Order Number: 28374
Structure: 24
Dialog: 23
Style: 24
Originality: 24
Total: 95

Feedback: Very well written scene! Loved the inspirational flashback moment under the stands in the middle — great way to approach this material. Loved the energy and the pacing and the characters of Desiree and Mary. Jennifer feels a little generic but that’s the only knock here — other than that, fantastic work!

My first thought was, “You know, they’re absolutely correct. Jennifer was a bit generic. I was trying to paint someone in as stark a contrast as possible to Desiree, but in doing so didn’t give her enough of a unique draw. Oh well… I’m satisfied with that result.”

I sipped my coffee, and then thought, “Wait a second, you know, 95 is a pretty good score. I only missed 5 points. Maybe I should check the first link.”

I went back to my e-mail and clicked the link.

I scrolled down the list and then…

HOLY CRAP CRAPPERS BATMAN!!!!

My name was the 18th one down! I made it to the second round! Huzzah! It totally made my day. I completely accomplished my goal, and no matter what else happens will walk away from this little endeavor completely satisfied.

At work I did some number crunching and estimated there were between 1200 and 1300 entries.

[EDIT: Jim Cirile stated in the Coverage Ink newsletter they revived over 1400 entires]

1 person scored 98 (first place)
2 people scored 97 (second place)
12 people scored 96 (third place)
16 people scored 95 (forth place – my group)

There weren’t really “places” per se, but I mean, that’s the only way I could break it down easily. I basically tied for 4th with 16 other people.

I’m looking forward to Saturday. The scene premiss will be posted at 1 P.M. EST / 10 A.M. PST, and we’ll have 24 hours to write it up and submit it.

My wife and I had two graduation parties to go to on Saturday, but I’ve since told her I won’t be able to attend.

But until then, I’ve got to get back to work on my Bystander outline.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Congrats, Steve! I missed the cut-off by two points. Hope you do well this weekend!

    • Thanks man!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

