Posted by: steveonfilm | May 22, 2010

Cyberspace Open Round 2: First Draft Done

I completed my first draft for round two. It’s just over five pages, but that’s mainly because of ambiguous and wordy dialog, which will obviously get fixed, revised, and tightened as my drafts go along.

I’m pretty satisfied with the subject I chose and think it fits the prompt well. I’ve gone with a quasi three act scene unit again (prologue, main scene, epilogue).

The prologue and epilogue are about a half page each, and are there really to just provide some framework for the main scene.

I’m going to try and pop out a new draft every three hours, concentrating on making thing as tight as possible.

We’ll see how it goes.

Keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Hey, Fellow Finalist!

    Congrats on finishing your first draft!

    I also have my first draft done. I’m taking a break for dinner now. Hoping to come back tonight and look at it with a fresh set of eyes.

    Don’t think I’ll make the top three (I’ve got way too many characters in my scene). But who cares? I’m just happy to be in the finals!

    Best of luck to you!

    • Hey A.J., good to see things moving along for you too.

      I was just taking a break for dinner as well.

      Now, back to the grind.

  2. Hey Steve,

    Practical question here . . .

    How do you think we’re supposed to save our files for Round 2?

    I know they said to use ordernumber.firstname.lastname.pdf

    But that would be the exact same as our Round 1 entry.

    I’m think of using ordernumber.firstname.lastname.round2.pdf

    Thoughts?

    • The instructions say the same way as round one.

      On the title page, that’s where you indicate round 2.

      Regardless, they know who to expect entries from. As long as your order number is on there, I’m pretty sure you’ll be fine.

      If you’re nervous, send them an e-mail to verify, they’ll get back to you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

