Posted by: steveonfilm | July 21, 2010

So… um, yeah

I’m thinking of entering in “Served Cold” to the 2010 Screenwriting Expo screenplay competition. I mean, it’d just be for shits and giggles. But I figure what the hell, you know? Why not?

When I entered into the Cyberspace Open I knew that I’d be able to see my score, get some brief feedback, and compare how I did to other people. I’d know based on the first round of scores just how I ranked against everyone else that entered. I did a lot better than I expected.

Now, writing 5 pages in 72 hours, and then 5 pages in 24 hours, is a very specific skill. I think my writing style and personality in general lends itself well to that kind of contest. It’s something entirely different to put together a 120 page script with basically an infinite time frame to work on it.

But you’ve got to jump into the water at some point. I’ve gotten some generally good feedback on “Served Cold.” I mean, nothing great, but enough for me to toss it out there and see how it stacks up. What’s the worst that can happen? Someone I don’t know, who I’ll never meet, will think it’s average, or at the worst terrible, and toss it in the bin. No big deal. The best that can happen is I win 20 grand. I think that’s a fair trade off.

Actually, what I think is interesting is the number of winners. There are like 20 semifinalists who have their shit blasted out to some “industry people.” Does that matter? No. What matters is that if you can get short listed in a few contests, maybe even win one or two, it’ll be a hell of a lot easier to get an agent or manager to call you back about possible representation, than if you’re some nobody “writer” with nothing to show.

Think about it… if I was hiring a project manager, and I had two guys to choose from, who would I hire? The guy who says he can do a good job but has nothing to back it up. Or the guy who has fifteen references from previous projects he worked on?

Anyway, I think I’ll take a few days off from writing “The Debt Collector” and go over some notes I got from a few people and polish up “Served Cold.” If by Sunday I’m not feeling it, no big deal, I won’t enter. But if things look good, I’ll drop the entry fee and upload away.

Couldn’t hurt, right?

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

