Posted by: steveonfilm | August 8, 2010

The Debt Collector: Act Two B Complete

I just put some finishing touches on Act 2B of The Debt Collector. It’s at a state now where I’d consider it complete, or at least I’m ready to move on to Act 3.

If you want to give it a look, you can click on the link Collector – Act 2B for the pdf.

One thing you might notice if you read through the act are some notes I left to myself. Various references I want to make in early in the story. There are things that popped into my head as I was writing Act 2B, and I think they’re strong enough to go back and add in earlier in the story. However, I can do that after I finish my words on paper draft. It’s not something I need to stop and go do right now.

I like to leave notes to myself when writing a screenplay. Sometimes things pop into your head and you need to make reference to them so you don’t forget. Maybe it’s a better way of an earlier scene playing out. Maybe it’s a change to a subplot. Maybe you want to modify some things that a character does. Whatever it is, I like to leave it in the screenplay while it’s an active draft. This way, I force myself to look at them when I go through and edit/polish it up. If I were to leave the note on a separate document, I might miss it, or ignore it. But if it’s in the script itself, I can’t help but read over it again, and either do what I suggest, or delete it. Anyway, just a little something that I’ve found works for me I thought I’d share with you.

I’m going to start on Act 3 today. I don’t see any reason why I shouldn’t. I’m in the grove right now, and might as well take advantage of it. And honestly, I’m looking forward to wrapping this story up and bringing it to an end.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

