Posted by: steveonfilm | August 11, 2010

The Conversation

It’s been a frustrating night of writing.

I’ve got a really important conversation to work through.

But my progress has been slower than I’m used to.

I think it’s good to run into these kinds of road blocks from time to time though. It keeps things challenging, and forces a writer to really concentrate on stripping heavy dialog down to it’s core and key elements.

I’m kind of taking the take two steps forward, one step back approach. I’ll progress a little bit, and then go back a bit and revise. More forward, go back a bit and revise. And it’s not that I’m trying to make it perfect. I’m just trying to get the right pieces of information out in an interesting manner.

I won’t be satisfied until the mood of the scene feels right, and the stakes are properly set up. And until that happens, I’ll just keep on keeping on.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

