Posted by: steveonfilm | August 29, 2010

Coming Up Next…

I’ve spent the last few days going over some story ideas, meandering on some things I might write about, looking through old story folders, tinkering with a few things, typical stuff a write would do when searching for the next story.

I’ve got a few options so far…

1. Rewrite something.

There are three screenplays that I’ve got sitting around that I need to rework. The most recent is a run through and polish of Pride is Forever. I’ve never really been satisfied with how this project turned out. Another one is Bystander. I’ve had a rework of this floating around for a while, but it’s never gotten past the planning stages. The third is a rewrite of Marianas. The story is there, as are the characters, I just need to bring the writing up to par and concentrate on developing a lot of the dramatic elements.

2. A kidnapping story

A few months ago my buddy Ryley suggested I write a linear thriller as a writing exercise. A point A to point B story. Some of you might remember some of the posts where I talked about this. Instead of putting together a story that did that, I ended up with The Collector. Not a waste of time by any means, but not really what Ryley was looking for. Bottom line, the idea just wasn’t there to make it happen. However, a few weeks ago something popped into my head that might just work. It involves a single mother, struggling to make ends meet, having a chance encounter with two nihilistic rich men (think folks who view and treat others like Kathryn and Sebastian in Cruel Intentions). Mix together elements of Surviving The Game, The Game, and Run Lola Run and you’ll have an idea of the type of story I’d like to tell. I’m not sure I can pull it off, but I’ve started some research into how to approach the story.

3. A modern take on Little Red Riding Hood

I don’t know why this suddenly struck me, but I had this weird idea for a modern take on Little Red Riding Hood. It would be a quasi horror/supernatural thriller, with an adult instead of a child, but more or less the same story as Little Red Riding Hood. I’ve never written a horror screenplay before, but this idea might be a lot of fun to work on.

Anyway, I’ll be messing around with all of this over the course of the next few days. So expect some posts about a few of these things as they begin to develop a bit.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

