Posted by: steveonfilm | September 1, 2010

Movies, Movies, Movies

I’m taking this down time from writing to get caught up on some movies and to rewatch some others.

First on the list is a movie I just recently stumbled upon, “Swimming with Sharks.” Starring Kevin Spacey and Frank Whaley, “Swimming With Sharks” is about “A young Hollywood executive becomes the assistant to a big time movie producer who is the worst boss imaginable: abusive, abrasive and cruel. But soon things turn around when the young executive kidnaps his boss and visits all the cruelties back on him.” I can’t wait to see it.

The other movie on my list is “Run Lola Run.” I saw this movie at least six or seven years ago and loved it. I got my Netflix copy in the mail today and will be re-watching it for research on one of my story ideas. The first time I saw it I had to sit through the annoying English dub. This time I’ll watch it with the original voices and subtitled. I can only imagine it will be an even better experience than the first time I saw it.

Surprisingly I’ve had a few friends send me back some feedback on “The Collector.” Usually I send my scripts out to some friends to read and never hear back from them. You know the routine, “Oh! You write screenplays! I’d love to read them.” Then you send it over and they never get around to it. Not a huge deal. You learn to expect that. But for whatever reason three people all read it and got back to me. Must have been a slow weekend.

Overall they enjoyed it. That makes me feel good. My worst fear is that someone is bored reading something I wrote. I just want to entertain, plain and simple. The common thread between the “reviews” was with the ending. Most expected something tragic, and I didn’t go that way. “The Collector” is a redemption story, or at least in my head that’s what it is, and if people are expecting something tragic, maybe I’m missing something in the set up. I’m going to have to really mull over how I set up Ira, and figure out why the story isn’t connecting as a redemption story.

On the flip side, no one thought the ending was too heavy. That was a relief. This is the first time I’ve written anything with any sort of spiritual undertones. I was worried it might go too deep. That it might detract from the story. Fortunately, that doesn’t seem to be the case. Maybe it was just the people who read it, I don’t know. But it was a concern, and so far it seems like it’s not something I need to be worried about.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steven

Leave a Reply

Categories

