Posted by: steveonfilm | October 5, 2010

Seven Movies in Seven Days: Elite Squad

A good buddy of mine, Curt, lived in Brazil for several years, and is very much plugged into the Brazilian culture. Thanks to him I’ve been exposed to a lot of cool stuff, especially a few movies. Not too long ago Curt gave me the heads up about a Brazilian movie called “Tropa de Elite,” or in English, “Elite Squad.” I put it into my Netflix queue immediately.

The synopsis is as follows: “1997, Captain Nascimento has to find a substitute for his occupation while trying to take down drug dealers and criminals before the Pope comes to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.”

I’m a big fan of gritty cop/police thrillers, so I’m really looking forward to this one.

-Steve

Update: HOLY SHIT! That movie was fucking awesome! I mean, JESUS CHRIST I wish American movies were still this hard. I you like stuff like Lethal Weapon, 48 Hours, or even Beverly Hills Cop, and wish they had a harder edge, this movie is for you. This is a solid hard R folks, some serious, serious stuff.

I didn’t realize this movie was directed by the same guy that did “Bus 174,José Padilha, which I also really enjoyed (also thanks to Curt’s suggestions).

Really, if you’re not venturing outside of American flicks from time to time, you’re missing out. There’s just some rock solid stuff out there coming from places like Korea, Brazil, South Africa, and, interestingly enough, France.

I’m particularly interested in how the Brazilian landscape for movies begins to shape up over the next decade. Brazil is growing uber fast, and I think it’s only a matter of time before it’s a real force in the worldwide entertainment industry.

Fun note, IMDB has “Elite Squad 2” listed as in post production. Hell yeah!

Responses

  1. I’ll check it out once Oct is over.


Leave a Reply

Categories

