Posted by: steveonfilm | October 12, 2010

Still Writing, Just Not On My Project

I’ve been writing quite a bit these last few days. First, I was chatting with a reader named Peter over the weekend. He also submitted a screenplay to the 2010 Screenwriting Expo contest. We shared some e-mails back and forth, and I took a look at his script. I was immediately reminded of the first screenplay I ever wrote. Wordy. Too busy. But with a core story just waiting to come out.

I told Peter of a few books I wanted him to check out. Then, I decided to rewrite the first 20 pages of his script to show him how I’d approach them. I’m not sure why I did it. But I just felt like it was something I needed to do. Peter read them over, and has a relatively general idea how some of the things he was doing wrong. I’m no expert on screenwriting by any means, but I’ve had a lot of help over the last five years working on my craft. And I decided it was time to return the favor. Here’s to hoping that Peter surpasses me with his writing, and goes on to bigger and better things.

Second, I got an e-mail about a new contest I’m considering entering. Basically, you get a logline, and then have 15 pages to give your take on how you’d approach the opening of the screenplay. They pick 10 finalists and things go on from there. As soon as I read the log line, the gigantic idea just exploded in my head. I’ve got until the end of the month to officially “enter.” So I’m messing with my version of the 15 pages and seeing what happens. If I like how it turns out, I’ll enter. If not, no love lost.

I figure, hey, if you’re not writing my own stuff, at least I’m writing.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. That’s awful nice of you to critique in a productive way. I’m sure he will appreciate it. No better lesson than seeing it done to your own script.

    What’s the contest? Sounds interesting…

    • Yeah, I thought it would be a neat way to give some constructive feedback. Here’s your first 38 pages condensed into 21. Look at what I cut out, and what I changed, and then lets talk about why. I mean, the raw story is there, and it’s got potential, it’s just a matter of getting the mechanics down.

      It’s a contest The Writer’s Store is putting on. I’ll send something to your Facebook.

  2. Hey Steve, just checking up on the latest on the blog.

    Books should be here by the weekend. Thanks again, you are a huge help and a gentleman as always. I think it’s rare for somebody to help another person nowadays just out of sheer kindness. I am forever grateful for that.

    Delighted to hear about the possibility of another competition entry! If you need any proof-reading remember I’m always around. Any time.

    • Sounds good man. I actually just got some books in the mail today too. There was a sale on Amazon, so I stocked up on a few I heard were fun reads and could be helpful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

