Posted by: steveonfilm | October 14, 2010

My Thoughts, Written By Someone Else More Important

I just got Blake Snyder’s “Save The Cat” in the mail yesterday and began reading it immediately. I can already tell I’m going to need to add this into my “how to get started with screenwriting” pitch that I give friends and acquaintances who say they “have an idea that would make a killer movie.”

As I’m going through the book Blake said something that I’ve been trying to tell people who want to talk screenwriting with me, but don’t want to tell me what they’re writing:

“A: I have no fear that anyone will steal my idea (and anyone who has that fear is an amateur)…

B: You find out more about your movie by talking to people one-on-one than having them read it.”

FINALLY, validation that I wasn’t an idiot for thinking this way. That’s why I have my scripts for anyone to download… real writers aren’t going to steal my stuff. And if someone needs to steal myself, they’re not good enough to be professionals anyway, and I shouldn’t be worried. Plus, how can I get advice on what I’m writing, or thinking of writing, if I’m too scared to tell people about it?

Snyder relates all of this into how people actually learn how to pitch their movie ideas without even realizing it. It’s a fun opening chapter that really sheds light on how important a logline is, what makes them successful, and that boiling your story down into a simple one line summary before you write it can actually make what you end up writing better.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

