Posted by: steveonfilm | November 9, 2010

A Small Project

A few weeks ago I entered The Writer’s Store’s Industry Insider Screenwriting Contest. What attracted me to this contest was the same general concept of the Cyberspace Open, but at a much larger scale.

You’re given the following logline from Simon Kinberg:

A spy who has spent life wining and dining young women suddenly gets a major surprise when his daughter knocks on the door.

Everyone who enters need to come up with the first 15 pages of an original script based on the logline. I thought that was a pretty need idea for a contest. If you’re one of the top 10 finalists, you then move on and blah, blah, blah…

Anyway, I’ve gotten REALLY into working on this. Regardless if I’m a finalist or not, I’m moving full steam ahead at turning this into a full length screenplay already. I’ve got about half of the script outlined, and am working on filling in the holes in the second half. Hopefully I’ll have that done in the next few weeks.

This is the type of contest you enter just for the fun of it, and for a chance to compete, not because you actually expect anything to come out of it. It’s like someone who enters a half marathon. You don’t enter to win. You enter to compete. And to show yourself that you can do it. And just see how you stack up against everyone else. That’s kind of how I’m approaching it. And the benefit is that I’m taking an idea someone else planted the seed on, and growing it into my own project.

Here’s the most recent draft of my take on the first 15 pages… I’m going with the title “The Dad Type” for now. I don’t think things will change much between now and when I formally submit my entry, so have at it.

The Dad Type

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

