Posted by: steveonfilm | December 2, 2010

The Internet is Great

Two years ago I knew exactly two people in the UK. A nice couple I met with my wife while we were on our honeymoon in Europe. Now, thanks to my blog I talk regularly to two more, one in Ireland and the other in England.

I’ve also met three people from California, one of which I’ve met in person twice here in Atlanta. I know someone in Montana (who used to live in England). I’ve met someone from France. I know three people who live in Oregon. Again, all thanks to my blog.

Today I got an e-mail from a reader named Philip who, without my asking, sent me some spelling and grammar errors he caught while reading Served Cold, as well as a few tips for my writing. I mean, that’s fantastic, isn’t it?

Without the internet I would have never met any of these people. And while some might argue that I don’t “know” any of them, I think that’s garbage. I bet I know them better than some people know the “hey, what’s up” guy they see at the gym every day. Or the nice family they pass by in church each weekend. Or the deli manager who knows exactly what kind of lunch meat they order every week. Does it matter I met these people via text on an a computer screen? I don’t think so.

I’ve been “online” since about 1994. When I started college you still needed dial up to get your e-mail. By the time I graduated, people looked at you weird if you didn’t have broadband. I used to have to go to the computer store to buy software. Now I’m ticked off if I can’t buy it and download it directly from the vendor. Who want’s a DVD disc?

While there is plenty of garbage on the internet, there is also a lot of good. And I think a good portion of my growth as a writer is thanks to the internet. Whether it’s screenwriting forums, screenwriting blogs, or a website that host scripts, each has played a part with my education and progress as a writer.

I’m not sure what your thoughts are, or if you’ve ever considered starting a blog to chronicle your progress as a writer, don’t listen to the ass clowns that say “no one reads your shitty blog.” Some people will, and some of those people will contact you, and the goal isn’t to get 50,000 page hits and sell ads, the goal is to use it as a resource. Give it a shot, and I bet it ends up helping you out.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steven

Responses

  1. I agree! And thank you to Facebook, too. I’ve meet so many cool people through FB, even a some really great friends. Never would have met them otherwise. As for as blogging, even if you meet just one or two cool people a year who stumbled across your blog, that’s still awesome. Keep writing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

