Posted by: steveonfilm | December 5, 2010

Letting Go

I think I’m finished with my edits to Served Cold. I’ve redone the opening. Reshuffled some characters. Tweaked some dialog. And got it down to 101 pages. At this point I’m not sure there’s much else I can do with it. So I’m letting go.

Doing rewrites are fun… sometimes. But the challenge is getting the good creative and constructive criticism. Without that, you won’t know what you need to make your project better.

And that’s the hard part. You can send your script out for people to read. But that doesn’t mean anything. Will they take the time to tell you what works and what doesn’t? Will they help you move your story in the right direction? Tell you what bits of structure are weak? Where the pacing grinds to a halt. When characters are out of their elements? Will they be honest?

There’s a lot of questions. And sometimes you’ll get answers. Most of the time you won’t But I’ve learned I can’t let that get me down. You’ve just got to push ahead, and keep moving on.

Anyway, I needed to take a step away from The Dad Type and recharge the batteries a bit. I’m glad I did. I’ve got some new ideas and I’m ready to get back into the swing of things.

Here’s the updated draft of Served Cold.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Rewriting and editing is good.

    Sometimes however it’s also important to keep in mind that you might not write anything ‘better’ than what you did at first. At least in terms of an idea. Sometimes trying to ‘re-write’ it, to me, is like just putting more and more wallpaper over the same spot. It eventually bubbles, falls away, looks like crap, etc.

    Strip it back down to the paint and truly refresh it.

    • You’re absolutely right Aar…. I mean “Bacon.”

      This isn’t a total structural change, as much as a new layer of varnish. A tweak here. A polish there. Some minor shifts. The story is the same. The characters are the same. It’s like I bought it through a car wash, and put in a new stereo and some nice rims.


Leave a Reply

Categories

