Posted by: steveonfilm | December 8, 2010

2010 Expo Screenplay Competition Scoring

I got a follow up e-mail from the Screenwriting Expo Screenplay contest today. It contained information related to “complaints/questions/concerns” that entrants had.

The only thing of note that I wanted to share was the “threshold” it took to be a semifinalist. I’ve noticed a few Google searches for scoring terms hitting my blog, so I figure I’d share what they sent.

2. Context For Scores: “Where Did My Score Rank?”

A number of contestants asked how their scores stacked up. They wanted to know average scores, borderlines for finalist status. We should have thought of this to begin with. Here are those numbers:
Lowest scores: there were scores near zero. As previously mentioned, we rounded those up to 25. (See #3 below.)
Median score: 62. (Median means half the scores were higher, half lower.)
Mean score: 61.8 (Mean is what we usually think of as the “average.”)
Threshold for semifinal status: 91.5.*

*However, we plan to place all scripts scoring 90 or higher in the online system for producers, agents, and managers to view.

Served Cold had a 93, and The Collector scored an 87. So while it’s nice to know I wasn’t the lowest ranking semifinalist, I would have liked to have been higher. The average score for the entire contest was MUCH lower than I expected. I figured it’d be somewhere in the mid 70s, so I was surprised to see it at 61.8.

I think some of the complains from entrants were silly, especially in regard to feedback. This is a contest. Not a reading service. If you want in-depth analysis, pay for that kind of service. Otherwise, you’ll have to settle for a few big picture broad strokes from the reviewer. And that’s exactly what they should have given you.

I’ve made some revisions to Served Cold that I hope brings the score up, and entered it into this years AAA Screenplay Contest. It’s sort of the sister contest to the Expo. I got the early bird discount, plus I had a coupon, so I figured it was a win/win. If I can get it up a few points, great. If not, not a huge deal. I don’t think there’s much else I can do to improve on the story.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

