Posted by: steveonfilm | December 10, 2010

ScriptShadow Reviewed Served Cold (And They Didn’t Hate It)

…That’s not to say they loved it either. I’ve obviously got a lot of work to do. But it was still kind of surreal to check out ScriptShadow today and see a write up on Served Cold. I’ve really enjoyed ScriptShadow ever since Dusty told me about it a year or so ago. If you haven’t been there yourself, you need to do yourself a favor and check it out. It’s a fantastic resource for an aspiring writer. I’ve got a link to it on the right. So you’ve got no excuse.

Carson’s critique was straight and to the the point, and exactly what I needed to hear. He pointed out the story’s weaknesses, it’s strengths, and ultimately what I need to work on to become a better writer.

I think what I got most out of reading his review was that the things he pointed out are likely indicative of my writing as a whole. Sure, I mean, they’re problems with Served Cold itself, but that’s likely because it’s a weak spot in my storytelling in general.

Getting a good, solid critique of your work is really hard to do. I think all of us have been there. So I think I’m lucky I got this chance. Carson knows his stuff, as do a lot of the readers of his site, so I’m not going to take any of it lightly.

I’ve got a long way to go if I ever expect to get on level with proffesional writers out there. But if I work on the core elements that are keeping me down, and aren’t scared to throw myself out there and take my licks when they come, I might turn into the writer I’d like to be.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. I read that and I was like holy fuck I know that guy!

    • Ha! Thanks Ashley. I’m getting some “contest” hate in the comment, but what are you gonna do. Carson asked for scripts, so I sent mine in. It was great to get the feedback and tips, and sort of surreal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

