Posted by: steveonfilm | January 2, 2011

Starting The New Year Off Right

I’ve had a few weeks to work on an initial outline for “Untitled Horror Project.” I completed a “rough draft” or the outline a few days ago, and have now had some time to massage it into something that should give Michael a good idea of how I wanted to approach the material.

The outline isn’t at a state where I’d start writing, but I don’t want to go that far yet. I mean, I don’t want to lay down too much work only to have Michael hate it and have me drop large portions. That’s kind of the funny thing about outlines… when you’re working with someone, you don’t want to go too far without them being able to review it. Because if they don’t like something, and you’ve invested a huge amount of time into it, you’re less likely to listen to what they have to say constructively.

What I wanted to do at this point was put together something that outlines the story I wanted to tell, but take into consideration some real work constraints. If, by the grace of God, this was ever produced it isn’t going to be a 50 million dollar film. You’re looking in the 5 to 10 million range. So I made sure to keep locations limited. Main characters are kept to a minimum. There aren’t any huge set pieces. This is very much a thriller in a self contained little package.

Will this be what Michael is looking for? Only he knows. But after he’s got a chance to look things over in the next few weeks, I’ll have a better idea. And after that I’ll be more comfortable with what he expects of me, not to mention professional writers in general. In the mean time it’s a waiting game.

One more thing before I call it a night… the title of the script for the time being is “The Prey.” This was the original title that Michael used for his script, and while I don’t think it’s amazing, it sums up what the story is about. We can always go back and change it, but I already know a scene that I can work “the prey” into so it works. So going forward I’ll refer to this project as “The Prey.”

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steven

Leave a Reply

Categories

