Posted by: steveonfilm | February 20, 2011

Cyberspace Open – Winter 2011: Entry Submitted

YES!
Your file was successfully uploaded!

…congratulate yourself for having the courage to say,
“I can create on deadline,” and then doing it. Good for you!

I REALLY enjoyed writing this entry. It’s not the best thing I’ve ever done. But the prompt forced me to work outside my comfort zone, and I learned a lot about myself as a writer.

In the first round last year I scored in the mid 90s. I don’t think I’ll do that well this year. Why? The prompt. I don’t have an issue with it. I’m just not inclined to write in that particular manner. And working through this has shown me a GLARING weakness in my writing.

I’ve got a feeling first round scores as a whole will be lower this year. I don’t know, maybe I’m wrong, but I’d be willing to be I’m right. I’ll be REALLY interested to see if I can get my hands on some of the top scoring entries. Writing good subtext in dialog is a top tier challenge. And seeing good examples of it from fellow amateurs can never hurt.

I’ll upload my entry to the blog tomorrow morning after the deadline passes. It was good to flex my screenwriting muscles again. And with this over with, it’s full steam ahead on “The Prey.”

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Great to see you’re back again. I learn a ton each time, and this one was a tougher challenge for me as well. Good luck!

    • Not only am I back, I somehow managed to get plugged on the official Cyberspace Open blog. Yeah… I learn a good amount each time too. This year I learned my subtext writing sucks. Ha! Good luck to you too Jerry!

  2. Hey man. I read your entry and really liked it. I love how two people can get the same scene prompt and the direction of the 5 pages can be so different.

    Mine is a comedy and I would never have thought to go the route you chose. Nice work and good luck to you.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the short. And good luck to you too N.W.

      Part of the reason the prompts are so “vague” is so that people don’t get pigeonholed into one particular genre.

  3. On the eve of Round 2 destiny (or it could be another month), good luck to you. With any luck we’ll both have a new scene prompt on April 1st.

    • I sure hope so… the first round feels like a crap shoot, since you have no idea who you’re competing with. But the second round, you know it’s just you and 99 or so other people. Feels more real. More intense. Like there’s some kind of stakes… which I guess there is, since technically there’s prize money involved. But all in all, I just like the thrill of the competition.


Leave a Reply

Categories

