Posted by: steveonfilm | March 1, 2011

New iPad Tomorrow

I’ve been waiting to buy an iPad for a while. I almost got one a few months ago, but decided to get a new Macbook Air. However, the main reason I want an iPad is because there are things I like to do that I just don’t want to have to use up a computer for.

Four years ago I’d have never thought this would be an issue. If I needed to do something I opened up my laptop and got to work. Then I got an iPhone and everything changed. Suddenly there were apps I could use that didn’t need a computer. It all ran on the phone. It was a paradigm shift for me.

But as time went on, I realized the limitations of a small 4″ or so screen. There’s only so much you can do with that sort of real estate. I tried out some “screenwriting” software and it just didn’t click with me. Things were just too small.

But when the iPad came out, suddenly I could have everything I had on my phone, just in a bigger size, I realized the possibilities that could open up. Sometimes I just like to use touch interfaces more than a touchpad, keyboard combo. The iPad hit that happy medium spot between the phone and computer, be it my Air or iMac.

And now, finally, the day has come where a new version will be out and I can jump on board. I’ll have the screen size I want that lets me watch a movie from my media server and not have to squint. I can read a script without having to awkwardly position a laptop. I can tinker with a screenplay on the fly using some of the tools that were too small before.

But more than anything else, it just makes me all that more excited about what sort of things are going to come down the pip fire years from now. The future really is wide open.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

